Skip to Site Navigation | Skip to Content

Oklahoma Transportation Commission Awards $95M in Contracts in May

Oklahoma Transportation Commission Awards $95M in Contracts in May

Construction Equipment
WED MAY 22, 2019 - WEST EDITION #11

Highlights of the Oklahoma Transportation Commission's May 6 meeting include introduction of several new commission members, a briefing on an emergency Oklahoma Department of Transportation project to repair an I-40 bridge in El Reno and updates on recently-signed speed limit legislation and status of several projects that have been rescheduled after being delayed by the lapse in federal funding earlier this year.

Among the contracts awarded were work on SH-37 in Grady County, SH-29 in Stephens County, SH-78 in Bryan County and SH-3/N.W. Expressway in Oklahoma City. A project also was programmed to install new pavement striping on several highways in the Oklahoma City metro area.

Six new transportation commissioners took part in their first meeting following recent appointments by the Governor, Speaker of the House and Senate President Pro Tempore. New members are At-Large Commissioner Gene McKown of Norman; District 1 Commissioner Bob Coburn of Muskogee; District 2 Commissioner James Grimsley of Calera; District 4; Commissioner Don Freymiller of Edmond; District 5 Commissioner David Dyson of Elk City; and District 7 Commissioner Steve LaForge of Chickasha. They joined previously-appointed District 3 Commissioner T.W. Shannon of Oklahoma City, as well as District 6 Commissioner Bobby Alexander of Woodward and District 8 Commissioner Bob Peterson of Tulsa, who were both reappointed. During election of officers, McKown was named chairman, Peterson became vice-chairman and Shannon was elected secretary.

In a special presentation, Women's Transportation Seminar International, Oklahoma Chapter Vice President Sharri Hiller presented ODOT Chief of Media and Public Relations Terri Angier with its "Woman of the Year" award for serving as an outstanding role model for supporting programs which provide leadership training, professional development and networking opportunities for women in transportation. Angier is the second recipient of the award from the organization, which supports advancement of women in the transportation industry. Angier has worked for ODOT for nearly 30 years and oversees all aspects of public relations administration and information management for the agency... FULL ARTICLE

No comments (Add your own)

Add a New Comment


Comment Guidelines: No HTML is allowed. Off-topic or inappropriate comments will be edited or deleted. Thanks.