Skip to Site Navigation | Skip to Content

Pryor - Local Stimulus Portion

Pryor - Local Stimulus Portion

This article first appeared in the Pryor Daily Times.

Julie Yates
Staff Reporter

March 31, 2009 09:35 am

District 1 will have dumpsters at Adair, Pensacola and Strang from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m. Dumpsters will be at Chouteau, Mazie, Pryor and Sportsmen Acres in District 2. District 3 will provide containers at Langley, Locust Grove, Salina and Spavinaw.

The town of Salina will hold a city cleanup the same weekend. Per the town’s request, District 3 will allow the town to place a container at the county barn.

All three districts received county funds. District 1 received $56,191.15. District 2 received $138,257.92, which includes a payment from Federal Emergency Management Agency of $8,266.76.

District 3 received a total of $212,612.19, including funding from Oklahoma Department of Transportation. ODOT sent $156,421.04 for a washout on Lindsey Mayes Road. The washout occurred two years ago.

Commissioners approved a payment of $36,229.74 to Rural Water District 5. The funds are a portion of a Community Development Block Grant for $250,000. RWD 5 is expanding its district to serve the Greer area in District 1.

District 3 County Commissioner Melvin Pritchett resigned from the Circuit Engineering District Board. Commissioners appointed District 2 Commissioner Alva Martin to fill the position on the CED Board.

The county burn ban remains off. Commissioners took no action on reinstating the ban this week.

The commissioners approved American Recovery and Reinvestment Act Project agreements for Chouteau Creek Bridge and Brushy Creek Bridge. The two District 2 bridges will be funded by the national stimulus package.

Commissioners approved a utility crossing on Boatman Road for the Salina-Spavinaw Telephone Company.
District 2 has named Richard Motter eceiving officer.

County Clerk Rita Littlefield said the courthouse flag has been repaired. Littlefield said the flag was beginning to look tattered. Adair Boy Scout Troop #167, headed by Scoutmaster Carl Osborn, was in charge of repairing the courthouse flag.

Copyright © 1999-2008 cnhi, inc.

No comments (Add your own)

Add a New Comment


Comment Guidelines: No HTML is allowed. Off-topic or inappropriate comments will be edited or deleted. Thanks.